Developers Announce they will abandon Unity Engine if company doesn't reverse price changes

laynelane

Veteran
14 Jul 2022

laynelane

Veteran
14 Jul 2022
This is interesting:

As for Game Pass and other subscription services, Whitten said that developers like Aggro Crab would not be on the hook, as the fees are charged to distributors, which in the Game Pass example would be Microsoft.

Source.

I wonder if there will be push back from sub services on this policy. It's just so strange that Unity can just suddenly start charging for downloads after a certain numerical and revenue threshold. Why would anyone go along with this?

Reactions: toadsage44

Snes nes

Banned
4 Aug 2023
I'm not a expert on software licenses and law stipulations but the laws around software seem to be inadequate. They have no reason to do this other than because we can and you can't go into the software and remove the paywall so your forced to pay more rent to the creators. You remove the license then how will one make money off their work?

Reactions: toadsage44

laynelane

Veteran
14 Jul 2022
The current CEO of Unity is John Ricitello, the former CEO of Electronic Arts who brought in Project $10 in the PS3 era, making some parts of their games not work for used copies without buying $10 unlocks.

He sold 2000 shares just days before this announcement. Also, it turns out he's sold 50 000 shares and bought none this year. Other execs at Unity also sold shares recently (before the announcement). This article talks about it. Considering it's John Ricitello running the show, I expect the scummiest explanation for all this.

KiryuRealty

Cambridge Dictionary High Priest of Grammar
28 Nov 2022
Where it’s at.
Reactions: laynelane

ethomaz

Rebolation!
21 Jun 2022
Brasil 🇧🇷
PSN ID
ethomaz
Good look for devs (they need).
Because without Unity they will really suffer with options (yeap Unreal Engine 5 won't fulfill their needs).

• haha
Reactions: Old Gamer

Alabtrosmyster

Veteran
26 Jun 2022