It looks like ExoPrimal could be Capcoms first big miss in a while!

nongkris

Veteran
14 Feb 2023
i mean when i think of recent capcom all i can think of is 15 resident evil remakes, monster hunter, and street fighter. This seems like their first new IP in a while.

Yurinka

Veteran
VIP
21 Jun 2022
None of those games share fundamental similarities in their structure and design so no. But those other two do. Literally copy and paste job of certain gameplay systems, principles and ideas in many aspects. The main non-commonalities is the theme: Vampire hunters/Superhero brawler.

You say you're into game dev - you should be able to spot it. Keyword: should. Obviously that requires knowledge of the games in question in the first place, most of all Destiny (2) itself.
I work as a gamedev since 2005, now an indie but before was in a top AAA publisher and worked in top mobile and browser games including some of the early top F2P games there.

But well, this doesn't matter for this case. Any player can see that all games take references from popular games, trying to learn what works in them. So they always have similarities with a ton of games. Destiny, as the fastest selling new IP ever and a huge success like its sequel, has been very influential so many games took a few references from it.

But then there are copycats, who basically copy most mechanics, features game concept or even artstyle or setting from a single game. This is not the case of Avengers, Redfall, Knack or Pikmin at all. Avengers or Redfall have a few small things in common with Destiny but also with many other big games that also did it both before and after Destiny (example: loot tier colors, goes back to at least Diablo II or WoW), and have way more key things that make them completely different games compared to Destiny, and at the same time Destiny does many key things that aren't in these other games.

KnittedKnight

Gaming Sage
Icon Extra
13 Jul 2022